Book Review: Scandalous by Ella Steele

SCANDALOUS by Ella Steele

Mike’s Review

Description: “Warning: This novel contains sexually explicit content.

Millionaire Jack Gray earned his fortune creating erotic art for discerning clientele. He doesn’t use a brush to depict these hauntingly beautiful portraits–he uses bare skin. A sterling reputation is the only thing standing between Jack and poverty as he skirts the thin line between fine art and cheap sensationalism. To ensure that his character remains beyond reproach, an assistant observes his sessions.

While interviewing for a new assistant, Jack hears her voice–Abby Tyndale–the girl who got away. The last time Jack saw her was over a decade ago. After years of romantic tension she had nearly kissed him, but then disappeared without a trace. He hasn’t seen her since. Until now. When he learns that his lost love joined the clergy after she fled to West Texas, his heart sinks. She’s forbidden, forever set apart by her vows.

Jack’s life quickly spins out of control as Abby grows closer to him, and worsens when his client list is stolen. The financial blow alone is damning, but it’s the scandal brewing beneath the surface that he fears the most. Jack and Abby’s livelihoods rely on their reputations. A single scandal will destroy them both. While fearing a contrived scandal, they have courted a very real one as their romance reignites.

This erotic romance is an addictive tease that will leave you breathless and begging for more.”

Reading level: Adult
Paperback: 324 pages
Publisher: Laree Bailey Press (Aoril 30, 2012)

5 STARS-NOT TO BE MISSED!

Normally, I never would have thought to pick this up… But, under another pen name, the author writes a series (Demon Kissed) that my daughter absolutely loves – and that I’ve really enjoyed. Going in, I knew this wasn’t a book for my kids, but I was really interested in seeing what the author did.

It was awesome. I’ve read romances before… Stuff like Janet Evanovich‘s early stuff, and they’re cute. Light, fun, easy reads. Scandalous, while still being light and fun, is much more. It’s hot! Apparently the difference between a “romance” and an “erotic romance” is a helluva lot.

The book has an unusual protagonist, and all of the characters are a lot of fun. The author’s art references are deeper than you’d ever expect… And the plot has enough twists and conflict to keep you reading – even when you aren’t breathing heavy from the good parts. Yep. Expect to blush.

With the summer around the corner, bring this one down to the pool. And guys, throw a copy in your wife’s suitcase if you’re going away…

BOOKS are better than icecream, 5 stars, awesome books

Recommended for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey, H.M. Ward, Demon KissedJanet Evanovich, and romance readers who want something a little hotter than usual.

Grab your copy of Scandalous now!

Book Review: Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

fifty shades of grey, 50 shades, el james, erotica, romance, sexy reads, 3 star book reviewsFifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Marie’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.”

Paperback: 528 pages
Publisher: Vintage (April 3, 2012)
Recommended Age: Adult

REVIEW: 3 STARS-IT WAS OKAY

I admit that I read this because I was curious. Everyone was talking about it and said it crossed into Mommy-porn land. I was wondering if that was next to Disneyland or what? Anyway, I found out it was pretty close to Kinky World, and up the street a ways from Bondage-O-Rama.

People kept telling me that you have to read through the end, that it’s like walking away from Pulp Fiction in the last 5 minutes (which I did). So, I plowed through this thing even though it wasn’t my normal read. This is what I have to tell you people: YOU SUCK! 😛 This book ended with a cliffhanger! And it ends on a downer with an unfulfilled ending!

Normally I LOVE cliffhangers, but this one totally pissed me off. Through this whole story, I thought Ana would realize what she does at the end of the book, but she doesn’t. She seems to have the mental aptitude of a brick. I understand she’s new (a virgin), but she did graduate from college and was smart enough to get employed–can she really be this dumb?

Fifty Shades is more a myriad of kinky sex scenes than anything else. I would have liked the book to be about 50% shorter. And please know that it appears that this series is not a series, but three books broken apart in part A, B, and C.  It has three stars because there were things that I did like about it.  Christian appearing perfect but really being rather messed up was interesting.  I liked the dark edge the book had, and that was portrayed mostly through Christian.  I would have liked to learn more about the character in 500+ pages, besides his sexual preferences.  It felt like the footing for a good story, which is why I read the whole thing.

three star books, ya books 3 stars

This book is the first in the Fifty Shades Trilogy.  It is followed by Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed.

Recommended for adult readers who want spicy sex scenes that are a little different, romance readers, and erotica fans.  If you enjoyed Twilight, this is supposed to be the grown up version where the sexual tension is met.

Buy this book on AMAZON or B&N