Book Review: Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima

The Crimson Crown (The Seven Realms #4) by Cinda Williams Chima

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

A thousand years ago, two young lovers were betrayed—Alger Waterlow to his death, and Hanalea, Queen of the Fells, to a life without love.

Now, once again, the Queendom of the Fells seems likely to shatter apart. For young queen Raisa ana’Marianna, maintaining peace even within her own castle walls is nearly impossible; tension between wizards and Clan has reached a fevered pitch. With surrounding kingdoms seeking to prey on the Fells’ inner turmoil, Raisa’s best hope is to unite her people against a common enemy. But that enemy might be the person with whom she’s falling in love.

Through a complicated web of lies and unholy alliances, former streetlord Han Alister has become a member of the Wizard Council of the Fells. Navigating the cut-throat world of blue blood politics has never been more dangerous, and Han seems to inspire hostility among Clan and wizards alike. His only ally is the queen, and despite the perils involved, Han finds it impossible to ignore his feelings for Raisa. Before long, Han finds himself in possession of a secret believed to be lost to history, a discovery powerful enough to unite the people of the Fells. But will the secret die with him before he can use it?

A simple, devastating truth concealed by a thousand-year-old lie at last comes to light in this stunning conclusion to the Seven Realms series.”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 608 pages
Publisher: Hyperion Book CH (October 23, 2012)

RATING ~ FIVE AMAZING STARS!

Five freakin’ stars!

Han Alister and Raisa ana‘Marianna have returned in the conclusion to the Seven Realms series. The main conflicts in the Crimson Crown are, 1. Everyone is trying to steal the throne from Raisa and take it for themselves. 2. Everyone is also trying to keep Han and Raisa apart. The book takes place in the Fells, where Ragmarket, Southbridge, and Gray Lady are.

I enjoyed this book BIG TIME. It had bits of sarcasm and more humor than the other books did. Crow was awesome. I loved his remarks and statements. They were just either awesome or hilarious. The characters felt stronger, like Han’s and Crow’s and Willo’s. Raisa’s didn’t strengthen much, but it did grow stronger.

The Bayars….Well, I hate them. Duh. But I didn’t want that to happen to Fiona at the end. 🙁 I actually enjoyed seeing her and Han well at each other. Hehehe! Lord Bayar..Eh, his character did strengthen, but it just made me hate his guts more. Heck, why would I like him more? But, I liked his son Micah more. He wasn’t a complete jerk. Not completely, but he still was one.

I enjoyed the ending. There was a freaking awesome action scene that I looooooved! But I feel like the book and series could’ve kept going. There’s still a conflict at the end, I don’t know what happens to Micah, and I want to know more about Han and Raisa!

But. Above all of the downers and awkward moments…..5. FREAKIN’. STARS. Go Cinda Willaims Chima! Ye-ah!

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to people who have read the previous Seven Realms book. Also, people who enjoy Cinda Williams Chima’s book, magic lovers, and action lovers should pick up this book. 🙂 After reading the previous three of course.

Grab Crimson Crown now on amazon:

Sneak Peek: Crimson Crown (7 Realms Series) by Cinda Chima

OMG.  I cannot wait for this book!  <3 Han!

The chapter 1 sneak peek went up yesterday.  Click here to read.

Eeep!  Can’t wait!!!!

 

Book Review: The Gray Wolf Throne (Seven Realms #3) by Cinda Williams Chima

The Gray Wolf Throne (Seven Realms #3) by Cinda Williams Chima

Description: “Han Alister thought he had already lost everyone he loved. But when he finds his friend Rebecca Morley near death in the Spirit Mountains, Han knows that nothing matters more than saving her. The costs of his efforts are steep, but nothing can prepare him for what he soon discovers: the beautiful, mysterious girl he knew as Rebecca is none other than Raisa ana’Marianna, heir to the Queendom of the Fells. Han is hurt and betrayed. He knows he has no future with a blueblood. And, as far as he’s concerned, the princess’s family killed his own mother and sister. But if Han is to fulfill his end of an old bargain, he must do everything in his power to see Raisa crowned queen.

Meanwhile, some people will stop at nothing to prevent Raisa from ascending. With each attempt on her life, she wonders how long it will be before her enemies succeed. Her heart tells her that the thief-turned-wizard Han Alister can be trusted. She wants to believe it—he’s saved her life more than once. But with danger coming at her from every direction, Raisa can only rely on her wits and her iron-hard will to survive—and even that might not be enough.”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 528 pages
Publisher: Hyperion Book CH (August 30, 2011)

5 STARS–YOU GOTTA READ THIS!

The last book that’s out! I need the forth!!!!!! NOW!

This book takes place all over at the beginning sense they’re traveling. I’ll try to name all the places best I can, Fells, Tamron, Arden, Delphi, Marisa Pines. That all I can remember, but I’m guessing that is all of the locations.

The main characters, Han Alister and Raisa anna’Marianna are back. Raisa’s main conflict(What I think it is because it’s a conflict all throughout the book) is: Whom can Raisa trust? That is basically the main main conflict all through the book.

I liked the beginning(About 20, maybe 30% in). I can’t tell you why because otherwise it’ll be a spoiler. I ♥ Han’s character and attitude. I was amazed him and Amon got along(Read book 2 to find out why). Cat was awesome with her amazing attitude. Raisa with her mouth, backbone, and arguments were cool.

I didn’t really have any trouble during it, but the locations I always get mixed up because there as many and I can’t really spell them to tell you them.

I was a fan of the ending for a couple of reasons. 1.) It wasn’t a HUGE cliffhanger, but it still was one(Thank you Cinda! I love cliffhangers, but if it’s too big, I go insane waiting for the book!!!). 2.) Raisa was in it. Hehe, I lie Raisa. 3.) IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D☺:D☺:D☺

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

Series order: #1-Demon King, #2-Exiled Queen, #3-Gray Wolf Throne, #4-Crimson Crown

Recommended for readers who enjoyed Harry PotterEragon, and Artemis Fowl Series.  This series has the feel of epic fantasy, but it moves faster than Eragon.  The core of the series is magic.  Despite the title of the 1st book, there are no demons running around, well not at this point anyway.

Grab the Gray Wolf Throne now for under $10 – Kindle Edition!

Book Review: The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms #2) by Cinda Williams Chima

The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms, #2)
by Cinda Williams Chima

The Pirate Princess

Description: “You can’t always run from danger… Haunted by the loss of his mother and sister, Han Alister journeys south to begin his schooling at Mystwerk House in Oden’s Ford. But leaving the Fells doesn’t mean danger isn’t far behind. Han is hunted every step of the way by the Bayars, a powerful wizarding family set on reclaiming the amulet Han stole from them. And Mystwerk House has dangers of its own. There, Han meets Crow, a mysterious wizard who agrees to tutor Han in the darker parts of sorcery—but the bargain they make is one Han may regret. Meanwhile, Princess Raisa ana’Marianna runs from a forced marriage in the Fells, accompanied by her friend Amon and his triple of cadets. Now, the safest place for Raisa is Wein House, the military academy at Oden’s Ford. If Raisa can pass as a regular student, Wein House will offer both sanctuary and the education Raisa needs to succeed as the next Gray Wolf queen. The Exiled Queen is an epic tale of uncertain friendships, cut-throat politics, and the irresistible power of attraction. EXCERPT: Han slid his fingers inside his shirt and absently touched the serpent amulet that sizzled against the skin of his chest. Power flowed out of him and into the jinxpiece, relieving the magical pressure that had been building all day. It had become a habit, this drawing off of power that might otherwise pinwheel out of control. He needed to constantly reassure himself the amulet was still there. Han had become strangely attached to it since he’d stolen it from Micah Bayar. The magical pendant had once belonged to his ancestor, Alger Waterlow, known by most people as the Demon King. Meanwhile, the Lone Hunter amulet made for him by the Clan Matriarch Elena Demonai languished in his saddlebag. He should hate the Waterlow jinxpiece. He’d paid for it with Mam’s and Mari’s lives. Some said the amulet was a black magic piece—capable of naught but evil. But it was all he had to show for his nearly seventeen years, save Mari’s charred storybook and Mam’s gold locket. It was all that remained of a season of disaster.”

Reading level: Ages 18 and up
Hardcover: 592 pages
Publisher: Hyperion Book CH; 1 edition (September 28, 2010)

5 STARS-YOU GOTTA READ THIS!

I ♥ this book~!

Raisa/Rebecca and Han/Cuffs/Hunts Alone(This guy has too many names) are back in this book! Raisa has run away from the castle to go into hiding from the High Wizard. She is on a journey to Oden’s Ford, where she wants to enroll to a soldier school.
Han Alister(I’m only calling him that now) is on a journey to Oden’s Ford, but for a different reason. He is going to Mystwork House with Fire Dancer to train(I’m not telling you for what, hahaha!!!)

The book takes place in Tamron, Arden, Oden’s Ford, and, err, not sure of the rest. Sorry folks!

Again, there are two conflicts in this book, one for each main character. Raisa’s is; What is happening back in the Fells and should she go back? Han Alister’s is; What are the Bayar’s up to? Both plots are amazing(So are the characters). Raisa’s may sound a bit boring, but I actually found it interesting.

I liked Han and his story a lot. Raisa on her trip to the Ford was awesome too. 😉 Amon…Eh. He just…isn’t my favorite character int he book. I like everyone’s attitude though. Fiona…Is a creep.

In this book I didn’t find many(Try none) typos. I’m now reading the third book in the series(Hehe, I got it straight).

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

Series order: #1-Demon King, #2-Exiled Queen, #3-Gray Wolf Throne, #4-Crimson Crown

Recommended for readers who enjoyed Harry Potter, Eragon, and Artemis Fowl Series.  This series has the feel of epic fantasy, but it moves faster than Eragon.  The core of the series is magic.  Despite the title of the 1st book, there are no demons running around, well not at this point anyway.

Grab it now!  Kindle edition is on sale for $6.99!