Book Review: The City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

The City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?
This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . . .

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.”

Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Paperback: 512 pages
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

RATING 5 STARS! 

Not as creepy as the title makes it sound.

The main character in this book is Clarissa ‘Clary’ Fray. The main conflict in this book….Is hard to explain, but I’ll do my best. Suddenly, Clary is seeing things: people disappearing into the floor for instance. When her mother goes missing, she’s taken in by the Shadowhunters, and one of them happens to be a boy named Jace.

The book takes place in Brooklyn! 😀 I thought that was cool, along with the conflict. The conflict in this book was good. It had thrills, awesome twists, and cool action scenes. Though I’m a little disappointed vampires don’t glitter. 🙁 The romance in this book……Was okay. Kinda creepy, kinda funny.

The ending. OMG, the ending. I found something in the ending hilarious! 😀 In the ending, we have questions answered, action scenes, but there was a scene that I thought was a little too dramatic. I can’t tell you because it would be a spoiler, but it had too much drama.

The book altogether, was good. Four stars! There was some stuff that gave me the creeps….But four stars! 😀

ya book review, teen book review, best of teen books

I recommend to Teen through Adult, people who love magic and can handle some creeps and blood. If you’ve read Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1), you’ll want to take a look at this one. 🙂

Grab the City of Bones now on Amazon:

 

Book Review: Nevermore: The Final Maximum Ride Adventure by James Patterson

 

Nevermore: The Final Maximum Ride Adventure (Maximum Ride #8) by James Patterson

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

One last chance…
for Max, Fang, and Dylan…
before it all ends.

Are you ready for the final chapter? Are you ready for the ultimate flight? Because THIS IS IT. One last incredible, explosive adventure with an astonishing ending that no one could have seen coming.”

Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (August 6, 2012)

RATING 3 STARS

Max is back baby, and stubborn as ever. 😉

Maximum Ride and the gang are just settling in for normal lives, keeping a low profile. Just when things are starting act up again and they’re needed.

A group of people have made a plan and call it 99%. Seemingly harmless, they’re more dangerous than the Doomsday group. The book has different parts, like the others. A prologue, four sections, and two epilogues. For me, there were two main conflicts: Find out more about 99% and get the whole flock back together.

The beginning for me was okay. I enjoyed it. There were awesome laughs that I enjoyed. Gazzy was hilarious, along with Iggy. Max was awesome. I love her stubbornness, but her Dylan/Fang problems made it hard to understand her.

The middle of the book was amazing! A memorable part will be: ‘Step. Away. From. The. Pie.’ Hahaha! 😀 Gazzy, don’t eat half a pie and ask for more, okay buddy? There were a lot of actions scenes the further in the book I got. I liked reading from Fang’s point of view (It may be written in third person, but still!) and his adventure. Angel……I dreaded reading from her point of view. 🙁 Because I really hate what they did to her.

There are spoilers in the section below. To read this part, highlight it and you’ll be able to see what I wrote. I didn’t want to spoil it for anyone, but I wanted to post something about the ending of this series.

I want to strangle James Patterson. The ending of this book stunk. And by stunk, I mean I got emotional, practically cried, and wanted to march up to his house and slap him. Why? Yes, yes, this sounds like ranting. But here’s my reason. Max and Fang die. During the freaking apocalypse. >:( Not cool. But here’s the other thing. The reason there were two epilogues is this: In the first one, it’s Max’s last words and saying she sees the light at the end of the tunnel. >:( The second epilogue has chapters. It takes ’till the second chapter in the second epilogue for them to actually say, “Hey! I lived! Gotcha’!” I can’t even…… Type how I feel about that. 

I’m giving this book three stars because of the ending. The ending messed the whole thing up. If the ending had been different, five stars would be coming its way! But the ending stunk. 🙁 I still enjoyed this book (Aka, the beginning and middle) and I think you should finish the series. But when you get to the epilogues, skip the first one and go to the second.

pirate princess book reviews 3 stars

I recommend to 13-Teen. If this goes on sale, buy it! Go ahead! But if it’s price goes up beyond its original $10, but it at a garage sale. If you enjoyed Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl #8), you might enjoy this. 

Grab Nevermore: The Final Maximum Ride Adventure now on amazon:

 

Book Review: The Selection by Keria Cass

The Selection by Keira Cass

A Pirate Princess Review

DESCRIPTION: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself- and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Reading level: Ages 13 and up
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen (April 24, 2012)

RATING 5 STARS OF AWESOMENESS!

AWE-SOME! It’s not even just some part awesome, it’s all awesome!!! 😀

♥♥♥ed it!!! America Singer is the main character int his book and is-may I say?-AMAZING! The other main character is Prince Maxon, whom America meets when she ends up in the Selected 35 girls that the Prince will meet and converse with to see which one he will marry.

I had covered my mouth to keep from yelling, “I knew it!” when she ended up a Selected. The main conflict in this book is something like this: America thought what she wanted, but now she’s having second thought. I know it’s not a question, but that’s the main conflict, at least how I see it.

The book was a fun mix of competition, questions, and excitement! I love excitement!!! The book is not dystopian, of course, unless you count attacks (I don’t count that.). The book had lots of laughs that I loved and parts that made me go, “Oh no she didn’t!”. The moment I read about Aspen and America together, I loved it. I wanted them together. But then I met Prince Maxon and I knew they would be together a lot. When Aspen did what he did, I called him a jerk.I officially don’t like Aspen. Hmph.

The end of the book was very good (I want mooooore!!!). I. Can’t believe how long I have to wait for the next book!!!

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

Recommended for readers who enjoyed Matched, Shiver, YA, Paranormal, and lighter dystopian books. Related posts: MATCHED SHIVER reviews.

Get THE SELECTION now on Amazon:

Thanks for reading my blog!  Can’t wait to post more awesome book reviews!

Book Review: Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

Stiefvater, wolves of mercy falls, ya paranormal romance, werewolves, favsLinger (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

A Pirate Princess Review

DESCRIPTION: “In Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver, Grace and Sam found each other. Now, in Linger, they must fight to be together. For Grace, this means defying her parents and keeping a very dangerous secret about her own well-being. For Sam, this means grappling with his werewolf past . . . and figuring out a way to survive into the future. Add into the mix a new wolf named Cole, whose own past has the potential to destroy the whole pack. And Isabelle, who already lost her brother to the wolves . . . and is nonetheless drawn to Cole.”

Reading level: Ages 13 and up
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Scholastic Press; 1 edition (July 13, 2010)

REVIEW: 5 STARS–NOT TO BE MISSED!

Werewolves come again!!!

This book is the second in the trilogy of The Wolves of Mercy Falls. It takes place in Mercy Falls, Minnesota. Compared to the first one, this was better, in my opinion. It has a lot of excitement, romance, and some new people, making me like it even more.

I liked that Linger had Sam in it, as a human and not a wolf. I liked the excitement and the mystery solving. The main struggle in this book was Grace and herself, trying to keep from turning wolf. The ending was a GREAT one and I enjoyed it. It was my kind of ending with romance and adventure that said, “This isn’t over yet!”

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend this book to fans of the series, YA addicts, romance lovers, and werewolf lovers.

Series order: Shiver, Linger, & Forever