Book Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestseller, LEGEND—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!
June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.
It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

RATING ~ 5 LEGENDARY STARS 😉

I bought this book the day it came out, then couldn’t put it down. It was awesome!

Day and June return in the second book of the Legend series. The book starts out on a train heading to LA, a city in the Republic. The plot in this book is pretty cool, and has a twist you’ll never see coming. >:) The main conflict this book revolves around the Elector..The new Elector.

Once again, I love Day! His life stinks though and I feel bad for him. Day is amazing in this book, especially with how he handles his life. Throughout all of Prodigy, Day’s action are influenced by his search Eden(I think I got the name right), his little brother.

June….Gah! In one part of the book, Day was being sweet to her, then she started listing what paper clips are made of! -_- Really? In the first book, June rubbed me the wrong way; I found her annoying. In this book, I basically feel the same way. She can memorize things quickly, which is neat, but she has a hard time expressing her feelings. She’s the reason that Day’s life got even more messed up. Honestly, by the end of the book, whenever I read the word ‘June’ I either thought, Oh no.., or just moved on. My point? I’m not a fan of June.

The romance in this book is a bit much, but it didn’t bother me a lot. I prefer the action, adventure, and suspense parts more than the romance parts.

The book also had humor, where I found myself grinning sometimes. One part that made me laugh out loud was this..

Yeah, something was wrong. That was the understatement of the year.

XD. That part is told from Day’s point of view, btw.

If I add up everything in the book that I liked, it’s 5 stars. Good book. Good read. I want the 3rd book…..NOW.

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to people who enjoy dystopian books. If you like something that’s post-apocalyptic and has a bit of romance, pick this book up. If you’ve read the first book in this series and liked it, then of course you need to get this one. Also, ges 13-Adult should give this amazing book a peek. 😉 Along people who enjoyed reading The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

Book Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

*TOP 10 OF 2012*

Marie’s Review

DESCRIPTION: “What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile (November 29, 2011)

RATING 4 STARS

I read Legend right after reading The Grey Wolf Throne.  The two books complimented each other.  It was really interesting, because I really like Han in the other series.  Day is a similar character. He’s poor with a tormented past.  He’s on his own and will do anything to survive.  One difference is that Han seems to be a bit of an egoist while Day is still trying to act within his own moral code.  Day hasn’t killed anyone.

And that’s what spurs this book.  Although he’s caused the Republic lots of problems, he hasn’t killed anyone.  Then one night things go horribly wrong and he’s accused of killing June’s brother.  The story unfolds beautifully, not too fast, not too slow.  We learn what happened to June’s family and the clues her brother left for her.  June hunts Day with the intention of killing him.  She’s the Republic’s golden child.  She’s smart, cunning, and merciless.  She’s the youngest solider and the smartest.

I LOVED this book.  It was dark and intense, with reasons that resonated with the reader.  You were routing for June and then hoping she’d fail, because you are routing for Day, too. Their two worlds collide and the story is just awesome!  I can’t say enough about this book.  It wasn’t on my short list of books because I hate the cover.  Yeah, I’m a girl and it’s an ugly cover.  Anyway, Legend is in my top 10 books read in 2012.  So why’d I give it 4 stars?

Lemme explain.  There is only one reason why I didn’t give it 5 fricken fab stars – the formatting.  Printing things in bold, weird colors was a gimmick that this book did NOT need.  Instead of lending to the book, these issues made Legend difficult to read from major headaches and eyestrain.  Publisher of Legend, I have one thing to say to you: I hope you print the next book normal so I can read it.  I completely hated the publisher’s guts while I was reading this book.  Doing anything that makes it more difficult for a reader to read a book is STUPID.  You might as well be shooting Chinese stars out of the pages at my eyeballs.  Majorly annoyed about that.

To the author: Your book was so good, I endured the migraines to finish it.

4 star book review

If you liked DIVERGENT, SHATTER ME, or 7 REALMS SERIES then you’ll like this.  Weird cross over on that last one, but I stand by it.  Han and Day are both awesome.  <3 <3 <3

Grab Legend now on Amazon:

Thank you for reading our blog!  Check back for more awesome reviews!