Sneak Peek: Crimson Crown (7 Realms Series) by Cinda Chima

OMG.  I cannot wait for this book!  <3 Han!

The chapter 1 sneak peek went up yesterday.  Click here to read.

Eeep!  Can’t wait!!!!

 

Book Review: The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms #2) by Cinda Williams Chima

The Exiled Queen (Seven Realms, #2)
by Cinda Williams Chima

The Pirate Princess

Description: “You can’t always run from danger… Haunted by the loss of his mother and sister, Han Alister journeys south to begin his schooling at Mystwerk House in Oden’s Ford. But leaving the Fells doesn’t mean danger isn’t far behind. Han is hunted every step of the way by the Bayars, a powerful wizarding family set on reclaiming the amulet Han stole from them. And Mystwerk House has dangers of its own. There, Han meets Crow, a mysterious wizard who agrees to tutor Han in the darker parts of sorcery—but the bargain they make is one Han may regret. Meanwhile, Princess Raisa ana’Marianna runs from a forced marriage in the Fells, accompanied by her friend Amon and his triple of cadets. Now, the safest place for Raisa is Wein House, the military academy at Oden’s Ford. If Raisa can pass as a regular student, Wein House will offer both sanctuary and the education Raisa needs to succeed as the next Gray Wolf queen. The Exiled Queen is an epic tale of uncertain friendships, cut-throat politics, and the irresistible power of attraction. EXCERPT: Han slid his fingers inside his shirt and absently touched the serpent amulet that sizzled against the skin of his chest. Power flowed out of him and into the jinxpiece, relieving the magical pressure that had been building all day. It had become a habit, this drawing off of power that might otherwise pinwheel out of control. He needed to constantly reassure himself the amulet was still there. Han had become strangely attached to it since he’d stolen it from Micah Bayar. The magical pendant had once belonged to his ancestor, Alger Waterlow, known by most people as the Demon King. Meanwhile, the Lone Hunter amulet made for him by the Clan Matriarch Elena Demonai languished in his saddlebag. He should hate the Waterlow jinxpiece. He’d paid for it with Mam’s and Mari’s lives. Some said the amulet was a black magic piece—capable of naught but evil. But it was all he had to show for his nearly seventeen years, save Mari’s charred storybook and Mam’s gold locket. It was all that remained of a season of disaster.”

Reading level: Ages 18 and up
Hardcover: 592 pages
Publisher: Hyperion Book CH; 1 edition (September 28, 2010)

5 STARS-YOU GOTTA READ THIS!

I ♥ this book~!

Raisa/Rebecca and Han/Cuffs/Hunts Alone(This guy has too many names) are back in this book! Raisa has run away from the castle to go into hiding from the High Wizard. She is on a journey to Oden’s Ford, where she wants to enroll to a soldier school.
Han Alister(I’m only calling him that now) is on a journey to Oden’s Ford, but for a different reason. He is going to Mystwork House with Fire Dancer to train(I’m not telling you for what, hahaha!!!)

The book takes place in Tamron, Arden, Oden’s Ford, and, err, not sure of the rest. Sorry folks!

Again, there are two conflicts in this book, one for each main character. Raisa’s is; What is happening back in the Fells and should she go back? Han Alister’s is; What are the Bayar’s up to? Both plots are amazing(So are the characters). Raisa’s may sound a bit boring, but I actually found it interesting.

I liked Han and his story a lot. Raisa on her trip to the Ford was awesome too. 😉 Amon…Eh. He just…isn’t my favorite character int he book. I like everyone’s attitude though. Fiona…Is a creep.

In this book I didn’t find many(Try none) typos. I’m now reading the third book in the series(Hehe, I got it straight).

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

Series order: #1-Demon King, #2-Exiled Queen, #3-Gray Wolf Throne, #4-Crimson Crown

Recommended for readers who enjoyed Harry Potter, Eragon, and Artemis Fowl Series.  This series has the feel of epic fantasy, but it moves faster than Eragon.  The core of the series is magic.  Despite the title of the 1st book, there are no demons running around, well not at this point anyway.

Grab it now!  Kindle edition is on sale for $6.99!