Book Review: Prodigy by Marie Lu

Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

The highly anticipated second book in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestseller, LEGEND—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!
June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.
It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

RATING ~ 5 LEGENDARY STARS 😉

I bought this book the day it came out, then couldn’t put it down. It was awesome!

Day and June return in the second book of the Legend series. The book starts out on a train heading to LA, a city in the Republic. The plot in this book is pretty cool, and has a twist you’ll never see coming. >:) The main conflict this book revolves around the Elector..The new Elector.

Once again, I love Day! His life stinks though and I feel bad for him. Day is amazing in this book, especially with how he handles his life. Throughout all of Prodigy, Day’s action are influenced by his search Eden(I think I got the name right), his little brother.

June….Gah! In one part of the book, Day was being sweet to her, then she started listing what paper clips are made of! -_- Really? In the first book, June rubbed me the wrong way; I found her annoying. In this book, I basically feel the same way. She can memorize things quickly, which is neat, but she has a hard time expressing her feelings. She’s the reason that Day’s life got even more messed up. Honestly, by the end of the book, whenever I read the word ‘June’ I either thought, Oh no.., or just moved on. My point? I’m not a fan of June.

The romance in this book is a bit much, but it didn’t bother me a lot. I prefer the action, adventure, and suspense parts more than the romance parts.

The book also had humor, where I found myself grinning sometimes. One part that made me laugh out loud was this..

Yeah, something was wrong. That was the understatement of the year.

XD. That part is told from Day’s point of view, btw.

If I add up everything in the book that I liked, it’s 5 stars. Good book. Good read. I want the 3rd book…..NOW.

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to people who enjoy dystopian books. If you like something that’s post-apocalyptic and has a bit of romance, pick this book up. If you’ve read the first book in this series and liked it, then of course you need to get this one. Also, ges 13-Adult should give this amazing book a peek. 😉 Along people who enjoyed reading The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

Book Review: Boundless by Cynthia Hand

Boundless (Unearthly #3) by Cynthia Hand

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

The past few years held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner ever could have anticipated. Yet through the dizzying high of first love to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she could no longer deny was that she was never meant to have a normal life.

Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seemed like the best option, so she’s headed back to California—and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must choose her fate once and for all.”

Reading level: Ages 13 and up
Hardcover: 448 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen

RATING ~ 5 HEAVENLY STARS

Team Tucker!

Sorry folks, but I had to get that out. Anyways, Clara Gardner returns in the final book of the Unearthly Trilogy!  So sad that this is the last book, but was so awesome.

The main conflict in this has to be…Ummm, this is gonna be hard to say. Errrm, lemme try again. The main conflict in this book is..Clara. Yes, yes, it’s about her. Uh-derrr! But what I’m trying to say is that, if you’ve read the first two books in this series, you know that Clara is different from other angel-bloods. Well, in this book, she’s been having a vision. A vision of an upcoming battle.

I have to say this. Christian. Kicks. Major booty. 😀 In this book, he’s around very, very often. I enjoy reading his character, but(Don’t be mad at me Clara+Christian lovers!)…..I don’t want him to be Clara’s boyfriend. I have to say that I like Tucker more than Christian. Ever since the first book. Christian is neat, cool, maybe a little funny. But I like that Tucker is awesome, works on a farm, and has a horse named after a dude in Greek mythology that turned things gold. 😛

This book had humor and action scenes in it. The first thing that comes to find when I try to think of something that made me grin in this book it this:

Hell stinks.

Hehehe. XD. So true, so very true.

Now, here’s something else I have to say. This book is SO not parent approved. They say ‘crap’ often, but it’s something else that makes it not parent approved. Something that I can’t say otherwise it’ll be a major spoiler.

I think that this book is more YA than the others. True, the others were YA, but people in middle school could read them. Now, I think that if you want to read this book, you have to be in high school. Or very mature. Of have to be a serious fan of Cynthia Hand.

This book, if I add it all up, gets 5 stars(Duh!). It. Was. AWESOME. Mark my words..

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to teens who are mature and big fans of Cynthia Hand. Ages 14(Maybe 15)-Adult can handle this book. If you’ve read the previous ones in the series, give it a shot! If you enjoy stuff that’s sorta paranormal, like angels, this book is for you.

Get Boundless now on amazon:

Book Review: The Academy by Ridley Pearson

The Academy (Steel Trapp #2) by Ridley Pearson

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

Steven “Steel” Trapp has been placed in an East Coast boarding school for gifted kids by his FBI agent father. He soon discovers that there’s a clubby element of the faculty and upper classmen that is very secretive and protective. To his surprise, his friend Kaileigh arrives at the school, and it isn’t long before the two realize that this is not your normal boarding school. It seems a select few students are recruited, while still minors, to serve as special “translators” for the US Government. People—including diplomats and dignitaries—will say things around kids that they wouldn’t otherwise dare speak outside of embassies. The willing student “agent” takes a semester abroad and ends up spying for his country.

But there are dark forces at play at the school. Foreign agents may have penetrated the school’s secrecy and have sleepers in place: kids spying on future kid spies. There is conspiracy and competition among the elite faculty that threaten security. As Steel and Kaileigh are recruited for their first test run—trying to break a ring of pickpockets in a Boston hotel—things go impossibly wrong. Betrayal and conspiracy cloud what should have been a straightforward assignment. And all too soon, their very lives are in danger.”

RATING ~ 5 STARS OF KICK-BUTT!

I. Love. Freakin’. Steel. Trapp. 😀

Steel and Kaileigh return in this mysterious and awesome adventure! Steel’s father has placed him in a school that is very secluded, and almost from the start of the semester, Steel knows that something about it is different than others.

I enjoyed reading this book. Since Steel and Kaileigh are at a new school, new characters were introduced. And new bad guys. >:D Wicked. Awesome. The book was fun to read, enjoyable(Obviously), and is a favorite(Of course).

Buuuut……..I have the sneaking suspicion that Ridley Pearson will write a 3rd book. He’s currently writing Kingdom Keepers, a famous series that will have 7 books. I’m think that he writes the Steel Trapp series when he’s bored or isn’t currently writing anything.

I got that idea because of the ending. The end of the book feels a bit incomplete. Steel and Kaileigh have some moments, but they don’t become a couple. Plus, Steel is Steel! He’s bound to have more adventures.

My point is that I loved this book and I hope there’s going to be another one. 5 stars! Whoo hoo! Go Steven ‘Steel’ Trapp!

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to Ridley Pearson fans! Ages 11-19 should give this a shot! 😀 If you enjoy mysteries, adventure, and or thiller/suspense book, PICK THIS UP AND BUY IT.

Get The Academy now on amazon: