Book Review: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments #4) by Cassandra Clare

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

Don’t miss The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, soon to be a major motion picture in theaters August 2013.

The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She’s training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And—most importantly of all—she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. Clary’s best friend, Simon, can’t help her—his mother just found out that he’s a vampire, and now he’s homeless. When Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace.

The stakes are higher than ever in the #1 New York Times bestselling fourth installment of the Mortal Instruments series.”

Reading level: 14 and up
Paperback: 448 pages
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

RATING ~ 5 AWESOME STARS! A MUST READ!

By. The. Angel. This rocked!!!!!!!!!! 

I needed something to read one night, so I remembered this series. I found myself buying the book, then finishing it within 4 days time. Clary Fray, Jace Lightwood, Simon Lewis, Isabelle and Alec Lightwood, and Magnus Bane are back in book 4 of The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare! The main conflict? Someone is murdering Shadowhunters who used to be in Valentine’s circle, causing unrest and tension between the Downworlders and Shadowhunters.

This book……Just cracked me up so freaking bad. It was hilarious, with witty remarks and just outright awesomeness.Want some examples? ^-^ I have plenty.

“Is this one of those keep-your-friends-close-and-your-enemies-closer things?”
“I though it was keep your friends close so you have someone to drive the car when you sneak over to your enemy’s house at night and throw up in his mailbox.”

“As long as everyone’s wearing their own pants.”
“I see I have come in on a fascinating moment in the conversation.”

Simon looked from one of them to the other, and shook his head. “ When did you two get so buddy-buddy? Last night it was all, ‘I’m the most elite warrior!’ ‘No, I’m the most elite warrior!’ And today you’re playing Halo and giving each other props for good ideas.”

“If we’re going to the Silent City, you might want to get dressed. I mean, I appreciate the bra-and-panties look, but I don’t know if the Silent Brothers will. There are only a few of the left, and I don’t want the to die of excitement.”

See what I mean? It’s awesome! ☺

Now, I have something to say. There’s a minor character in this book. A girl that’s 14-years old. She was sweet and kind….But the way the author wrote it made the teenager seem like she was 10. *facepalm* Why?! I’m a teenager, as you all know, and I know that that character should’ve been a bit more mature.

I have just one more negative comment. Jace…..was a bit mushy in this book. 🙁 And I think I can understand why, but I wish that he was like in the previous books, ya know? Not as mushy. He was still the king of sarcasm though. 🙂

Well, that’s pretty much it! I’ll be getting the 5th book soon, and watching the City of Bones movie that comes out in August 2013. 😉 This book get five stars! Congratz, Cassandra! Good work! LOVE THIS BOOK.

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to Cassandra Clare’s fans, of course. Ages 13-Adults should take a peek. 😉 But only if you’ve read the previous three books! Also, if you’ve read  the Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, defiantly read this series.

Buy City of Fallen Angels now on amazon:

 

Book Review: Blood Promise by Richelle Mead

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

Rose Hathaway’s life will never be the same.

The recent attack on St. Vladimir’s Academy devastated the entire Moroi world. Many are dead. And, for the few victims carried off by Strigoi, their fates are even worse. A rare tattoo now adorns Rose’s neck, a mark that says she’s killed far too many Strigoi to count. But only one victim matters . . . Dimitri Belikov. Rose must now choose one of two very different paths: honoring her life’s vow to protect Lissa—her best friend and the last surviving Dragomir princess—or, dropping out of the Academy to strike out on her own and hunt down the man she loves. She’ll have to go to the ends of the earth to find Dimitri and keep the promise he begged her to make. But the question is, when the time comes, will he want to be saved?

Now, with everything at stake—and worlds away from St. Vladimir’s and her unguarded, vulnerable, and newly rebellious best friend—can Rose find the strength to destroy Dimitri? Or, will she sacrifice herself for a chance at eternal love?”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Paperback: 512 pages
Publisher: Razorbill (April 6, 2010)

RATING ~ 3 STARS

I didn’t like this book as much as the others, which is a disappointment, but it was still pretty cool.

Rose has left St. Vladimir’s Vampire Academy to hunt her true love, Dimitri, and kill him. She’ll be traveling across Russia, meeting new allies, and getting into trouble. Then again, Rose is always getting into some kind of trouble. 😉

The enjoyed reading her experiences with Sydney. It was interesting to see Rose with her and I enjoyed that Sydney was mentioned and there with Rose, almost, throughout the entire book.

The whole book, except for the ending, was slow. Too slow. I did not like that there wasn’t as much action as in the previous book. Rose was mostly complaining, and upset, and un-happy the entire book, which I can understand why she was, but I didn’t enjoy how much she actually was and how often I had to read about it. Around half to three-fourths of the book was over, I just plain didn’t like it. It was just…Ugh!

I enjoyed the ending the absolute most! It was awesome. Lots of action, the regular Rose(The sarcastic, kick @$$ one) came back and kicked MAJOR booty. There were some other parts I enjoyed, but they weren’t with Rose. They were with Lissa, back at the Vampire Academy. Whenever Rose went into Lissa’s head, I enjoyed reading about what was happening back at the Academy. Jill and Christian were, wait, no, are awesome!

That’s pretty much all I have to say about the book. Between everything, it was ‘Eh’. This book is my least favorite out of the series so far. 3 stars.

pirate princess book reviews 3 stars

I recommend to adults and teenagers. People who enjoy romance and Richelle Mead’s work should take a look, BUT ONLY IF YOU’RE OKAY WITH CURSING AND HAVE READ THE PREVIOUS VAMPIRE ACADEMY BOOKS. Ages 15-Adults will probably enjoy this. Any younger than 15..Well, wait a bit.

Get Blood Promise now on amazon:

 

Book Review: Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Infinity (Chronicles of Nick #1) by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

At fourteen, Nick Gautier thinks he knows everything about the world around him. Streetwise, tough and savvy, his quick sarcasm is the stuff of legends. . .until the night when his best friends try to kill him. Saved by a mysterious warrior who has more fighting skills than Chuck Norris, Nick is sucked into the realm of the Dark-Hunters: immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity.

Nick quickly learns that the human world is only a veil for a much larger and more dangerous one: a world where the captain of the football team is a werewolf and the girl he has a crush on goes out at night to stake the undead.

But before he can even learn the rules of this new world, his fellow students are turning into flesh eating zombies. And he’s next on the menu.

As if starting high school isn’t hard enough. . .now Nick has to hide his new friends from his mom, his chainsaw from the principal, and keep the zombies and the demon Simi from eating his brains, all without getting grounded or suspended. How in the world is he supposed to do that?”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Paperback: 480 pages
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

RATING ~ FIVE ROCKIN’ STARS

Five. Freaking. Stars. DUH.

The main character in this paranormal fiction is Nick Gautier, a 14-year-old boy. Nick thinks his life stinks, which it does in someway. Nick soon meets a man named Kyrian, who happens to save his life. The main conflict appears soon enough in this book: Nick’s classmates are turning into zombies and he and his companions have to stop it.

The book takes place New Orleans, Louisiana. What I loved about this book was all the sarcasm in it. There was tons of it all throughout the book! The book was full of funny moments, action scenes, quick and smart-mouth retorts. Here’s an example of a funny/awesome moment:

“You need to up your vocabulary, boy. You can’t walk around letting people think you’re stupid. Expand your horizons. Besides, it’s fun to call people names they have to look up to realize they’ve been insulted.”
“Yeah, that’s a twofer there. You get away with it and then they’re twice as mad when they realize how bad you really insulted them. Especially if they mistake it for a compliment when you say it and thank you for it.”

This book does have some adult language in it, which made me a bit uncomfortable. I think the author intended to soften the curses with humor, but some of that failed. She used words that I don’t like, making squirm a bit when I read it. In some of the situations, it was funny to read. In other situations, I was mostly thinking: “Did someone really raise their kid allowing him to say that?”

The end of this book was a cliffhanger, but luckily I had the second book on hand. ^-^ Special me. Anyways, it was a rockin’ awesome book. 5 stars!

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to teens, adults, and paranormal lovers. Of course, people that love sarcasm will also enjoy this book. Ages 13-Adult should be able to enjoy this. If you’ve checked out Bane (Vampire Apocalypse #1), you’ll most likely enjoy this. 🙂

Get Infinity now on amazon:

Book Review: Catalyst by H.M. Ward

Catalyst (Vampire Apocalypse #2) by H.M. Ward

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

Blood is power. Since the world froze and the humans died off, blood has become scarce. There’s barely enough to sustain the vampire population, even though their masses have dwindled. Many vampires are reduced to the measly few drops of blood rationed to them by the Regent, which is enough to keep them alive, barely. It’s survival; an undesirable existence.

Before the world froze, before the humans slaughtered each other in their wars, blood was ample and rich. The odds of feeding from an infected human, one with weakened blood, was rare, but now it is normal. Every human within the palace walls is anemic. Though they tried, the Regent was not able to curb the severity of the disease. Their humans became sickly, growing weaker and weaker until they were so fragile that a single scrape could kill them.

The weakened blood means an unstable source of food, but there have been other repercussions—things no one saw coming. As time passed, fangs retreated, reflections appeared, and light was no longer destructive. Vampires can now walk in the full sunlight without turning to ash. Too many generations have passed. Many vampires cannot remember a time when blood flowed richly, when vampires did not have to abstain and endure a slow starvation.

One human can change everything. One human can restore the old ways and return vampires to their former glory—Kahli—but the girl escaped. Blood is power, and the vampire who finds Kahli first will have all the power.

2nd book in the Vampire Apocalypse Series by H.M. Ward”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Printed Version: 319 pages
Publisher: Laree Bailey Press

RATING ~ 5 STARS OF AWESOMENESS!

A.R.C. I’m the queen of them. ;D

Kahli, the kick-butt redhead, returns in book #2 of the Vampire Apocalypse series by H.M. Ward. :)

The main conflict in this book is an amusing, dangerous one. Everyone either wants to kill Kahli or capture her. Sounds like fun right? ‘Yay! I get to run for my life! Later suckers!’

Kahli was kick-butt in this book. She ticked a lot of people off, gave awesome retorts, and -Well- was Kahli. ;D There were hilarious parts in this book, romance parts, and action scenes that I adored. :)

The ending was wicked cool. I can’t say much since it’s not out yet, but it was FREAKING AWESOME! Though now I’m a bit mad at one character. >:(  You’ll figure out who when you read it.

There was this one part..It. Was. FREAKING. HIL-AR-I-OUS! I was laughing so hard I started coughing and tearing up. You’ll LOVE it. If you don’t, you don’t have a sense of humor. -_- You know what? I’m going to give you a line from that scene. Why? Because I’m that nice. ;)

“The guards are going to be all sorts of pissed when they find out they’ve been following a bunny rabbit.”

:D :D :D Lol! :D That’s pretty much all I can give you from the book without going into ‘spoiler mode’. Overall, 5 stars! Amazing book! Can’t wait for the last book in this series. :)

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to pre-teens, teens, and girl and boys alike. Ages 11-19 will enjoy this action and humor packed vampire book. :) And, of course, people who have read the first book in this series: Bane (Vampire Apocalypse #1)

Get Catalyst now on amazon:

Book Review: The City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

The City of Class (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters—never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City—whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of bestselling series the Mortal Instruments.

Includes an exclusive sneak peek of the fourth book in the Mortal Instruments series: City of Fallen Angels! And don’t miss the teaser from Clockwork Angel, the first book in the Infernal Devices trilogy, the prequel to the Mortal Instruments series.”

Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Paperback: 576 pages
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books; Reprint edition (August 3, 2010)

RATING 5 STARS

The City of Glass was awesome! Oh yeah!

In this book, Clary and the gang have returned. 🙂 This book takes place in the City of Glass, the home of the Shadowhunters. This book’s main conflict is….Clary has entered the City of Glass to find a way to get her mother out of a magical coma. A little weird I guess, but still a good conflict.

This book has action, romance, and lots of twists and turns. There were some pretty hilarious parts. Here’s an example:

Malachi scowled. “I don’t remember the Clave inviting you into the Glass City, Magnus Bane.”
“They didn’t,” Magnus said. “Your wards are down.”
“Really?” the Consul’s voice dripped sarcasm. “I hadn’t noticed.”
Magnus looked concerned. “That’s terrible. Someone should have told you.” He glanced at Luke. “Tell him the wards are down.”

I was laughing my head off at that. Magnus Bane is awesome! I enjoyed all of the twists in this book, but it did get a little confusing at times. :/

I enjoyed the action more than the romance in this book. The romance was confusing , sense it kept getting more complicated. Clary and Jace, Jace and someone else, Clary and Simon, then back to Clary and Jace. Honestly, romance shouldn’t be this confusing.

The ending was super cool and I liked it..A lot. 😀 All in all, this book was amazing, a must read, a five star book. 🙂

5 stars, books are better, book reviews, best in YA books, best YA novels

I recommend to teens and adults. People who enjoy paranormal, romance, and paranormal/action/romance. If you’ve checked out The Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1), you should enjoy this. 🙂

Grab The City of Glass now on amazon:

 

 

 

Book Review: The City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

The City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2)  by Cassandra Clare

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go—especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil—and also her father.
To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings—and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.”

Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Paperback: 496 pages
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books (March 24, 2009)

RATING 4 STARS!

The first time I saw this series, I didn’t want to read it……NOW I WANT TO READ IT AS FAST AS POSSIBLE!

Clarissa ‘Clary’ Fray is back in this book, along with Jace, Isabelle, Alec, Simon, and Magnus. And of course our very much hated villain: Valentine. The book takes place in Brooklyn once again! The main conflict is cool in this book, to me at least. The Mortal Sword has been stolen and Jace is being accused.

I really liked this book a lot. The book had the right amount of action, funnies, romance, and feelings put together. It’s hard to accomplish that. Simon had a lot of problems in this book, but he was my favorite character, along with Alec. The middle was my favorite section of the book. I enjoyed it immensely, especially this: ‘Haha? That’s your comeback?’ 😛

The ending was awesome! Another action scene! Oh yeah baby! 😀 Simon…..Simon’s life stinks majorly. Again? Seriously Cassandra? You did it three times in the book. Three times! Clary’s love life stinks also. I personally think she should be with Alec is he weren’t….You know.

Above all, 4 stars! Keep up the good work Cassandra! 🙂

ya book review, teen book review, best of teen books

I recommend to Cassandra Clare lovers, of course! YA, paranormal, magic, and romance lovers all alike will enjoy this action packed drama! Also, I recommend to ages Teen-Adult. If you’ve read The City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) or The Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1), you’ll want to look at this. 🙂

Grab The City of Ashes now on Amazon:

 

Book Review: The City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

The City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

Pirate Princess’s Review

DESCRIPTION: ”

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?
This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . . .

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.”

Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Paperback: 512 pages
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

RATING 5 STARS! 

Not as creepy as the title makes it sound.

The main character in this book is Clarissa ‘Clary’ Fray. The main conflict in this book….Is hard to explain, but I’ll do my best. Suddenly, Clary is seeing things: people disappearing into the floor for instance. When her mother goes missing, she’s taken in by the Shadowhunters, and one of them happens to be a boy named Jace.

The book takes place in Brooklyn! 😀 I thought that was cool, along with the conflict. The conflict in this book was good. It had thrills, awesome twists, and cool action scenes. Though I’m a little disappointed vampires don’t glitter. 🙁 The romance in this book……Was okay. Kinda creepy, kinda funny.

The ending. OMG, the ending. I found something in the ending hilarious! 😀 In the ending, we have questions answered, action scenes, but there was a scene that I thought was a little too dramatic. I can’t tell you because it would be a spoiler, but it had too much drama.

The book altogether, was good. Four stars! There was some stuff that gave me the creeps….But four stars! 😀

ya book review, teen book review, best of teen books

I recommend to Teen through Adult, people who love magic and can handle some creeps and blood. If you’ve read Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1), you’ll want to take a look at this one. 🙂

Grab the City of Bones now on Amazon:

 

Book Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

*TOP 10 OF 2012*

Marie’s Review

DESCRIPTION: “What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.”

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile (November 29, 2011)

RATING 4 STARS

I read Legend right after reading The Grey Wolf Throne.  The two books complimented each other.  It was really interesting, because I really like Han in the other series.  Day is a similar character. He’s poor with a tormented past.  He’s on his own and will do anything to survive.  One difference is that Han seems to be a bit of an egoist while Day is still trying to act within his own moral code.  Day hasn’t killed anyone.

And that’s what spurs this book.  Although he’s caused the Republic lots of problems, he hasn’t killed anyone.  Then one night things go horribly wrong and he’s accused of killing June’s brother.  The story unfolds beautifully, not too fast, not too slow.  We learn what happened to June’s family and the clues her brother left for her.  June hunts Day with the intention of killing him.  She’s the Republic’s golden child.  She’s smart, cunning, and merciless.  She’s the youngest solider and the smartest.

I LOVED this book.  It was dark and intense, with reasons that resonated with the reader.  You were routing for June and then hoping she’d fail, because you are routing for Day, too. Their two worlds collide and the story is just awesome!  I can’t say enough about this book.  It wasn’t on my short list of books because I hate the cover.  Yeah, I’m a girl and it’s an ugly cover.  Anyway, Legend is in my top 10 books read in 2012.  So why’d I give it 4 stars?

Lemme explain.  There is only one reason why I didn’t give it 5 fricken fab stars – the formatting.  Printing things in bold, weird colors was a gimmick that this book did NOT need.  Instead of lending to the book, these issues made Legend difficult to read from major headaches and eyestrain.  Publisher of Legend, I have one thing to say to you: I hope you print the next book normal so I can read it.  I completely hated the publisher’s guts while I was reading this book.  Doing anything that makes it more difficult for a reader to read a book is STUPID.  You might as well be shooting Chinese stars out of the pages at my eyeballs.  Majorly annoyed about that.

To the author: Your book was so good, I endured the migraines to finish it.

4 star book review

If you liked DIVERGENT, SHATTER ME, or 7 REALMS SERIES then you’ll like this.  Weird cross over on that last one, but I stand by it.  Han and Day are both awesome.  <3 <3 <3

Grab Legend now on Amazon:

Thank you for reading our blog!  Check back for more awesome reviews!

Book Review: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Mike’s Review

DESCRIPTION: “Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.”

Paperback: 320 pages
Recommended Age: Older Teen
Publisher: Tor Teen; First Edition edition (July 3, 2012)

RATING 4 STARS 

I almost walked away from this one a few times… But, I kept picking it up anyway and, eventually, it was worth it.

Anna Dressed in Blood has a great premise – and that’s what kept me from giving up on it. It’s not vampires, love triangles, and teenage angst (at least not entirely.) It’s a ghost story. A really creepy ghost story at times.

The problem, at least for me, was how slow it was to take full advantage of the premise. I was almost half-way through the book before the plot itself was gripping enough to keep me turning the pages. In and of itself, that wouldn’t be a deal-breaker. But, during that down time there wasn’t anything to balance out the lack of excitement. Every time it felt like it was about to kick into gear, it still managed to meander of pretty quickly.

I would really have liked to see more character depth from the beginning. More relationships. More conflict. More to keep me reading, and building the suspense, while waiting for the “ghosty” parts. Heck, I really wouldn’t have been upset to see any of the characters suffer a horrible death for the better part of half the book. That’s a problem.

As the story goes on, I never really fell for the protagonist, Cas, but there was still enough there to keep me hooked. Maybe that was the problem – the bulk of the beginning was supposed to be introducing Cas… and I just never really grew to like him during that time. At times I actually disliked him. If nothing else, how do you have a “ghost hunter” who seems so weak at times.

I normally would have rated this around three stars. But, my rule is that if I’ll pick up the next book in the series it’s worth 4. And, I just may grab the next one. Maybe. This book actually ended on a note that strongly reminded me of Demon Kissed – and that’s a great series.

***Although YA, my twelve year old will have to wait for this one… Otherwise I foresee a lot of nightmares in the near future. Just an FYI – maybe your kid is made of stronger stuff. But, I was creeped out at times, and I’m old enough to know the bogeyman isn’t under the bed.

4 star book review

Recommended for people who read YA Horror, Ghost Stories, and like a good creep-out.  Need a spooky read for Halloween?  This is it.  Anna Dressed in Blood is followed by Girl of Nightmares (release date Aug 7, 2012).

Grab Anna Dressed in Blood on Amazon now. It was only $2.99 when I grabbed it!

Thanks for reading my blog!  Check back for more awesome reviews soon!

Book Review: Valefar Vol. 2 (Collin #2) by H.M. Ward

Valefar Vol. 2, HM ward, demon kissed, paranormal romance, 5 star book reviews, YA

Valefar Vol. 2 (Collin #2) [Demon Kissed] by H.M. Ward

Marie’s Review

Description:

“The dangerous and beautiful Collin Smith just made the biggest mistake of his life, and there is no way to fix it. In his quest to restore his soul, he destroyed the only person he truly cared about, Ivy Taylor. Collin tries to deny his love for her, but his desire to protect Ivy drives him to do things Valefar shouldn’t do. If Collin exposes his weakness—his affection for Ivy—he endangers them both and risks the wrath of Kreturus.”

The VALEFAR volumes are meant to read in one sitting, and generally takes about an hour. VALEFAR VOL. 2 is a YA Paranormal Romance and has 13,223 words (90 pages).  VALEFAR VOL. 3 will be released Summer 2012.

Ages: 14 & up
Print Length: 90 pages
Publisher: Laree Bailey Press; 2 edition (March 30, 2012)

REVIEW: 5 STARS! NOT TO BE MISSED

This novella picks up right where the last one left off. You’re instantly thrown into Collin’s world as he tries to fight for Ivy, while still trying to remain below the radar. They are written lighter, similar to Demon Kissed (Ivy #1).

I love the way these book go with the main series. Without them, nothing is lacking, but with them – OMG. Is it possible to <3 Collin more? Cuz after reading these I totally do. And at the end of book #5 The 13th Prophecy, I was feeling for Eric.

I can’t wait for the next one. I heard there are going to be several of these. My suggestion is reading Valefar Vol. 1 and Vol 2 AFTER reading Demon Kissed. The great thing about these is that you can read them in any order (Valefar Volumes, then Demon Kissed), but I really like the ah-ha! moments that happen after reading Demon Kissed. And it doen’t spoil anything to read them in that order either.  My understanding is that there is no print edition of this book at this time.  The print edition will appear as Volumes 1-4 when the 4th installment appears.

BOOKS are better than icecream, 5 stars, awesome books

This is the second book in the Collin Smith/ Demon Kissed series.  DEMON KISSED is followed by CURSEDTORNSATAN’S STONE, and THE 13th PROPHECY.  Companion DEMON KISSED novellas are THE VALEFAR VOLUMES: VOL. 1. & 2. ASSASSIN: FALL OF THE GOLDEN VALEFAR is Eric’s story and the first book in that related series will be released May 10th, 2012.  Can’t wait!

Recommended for people who like dystopian, paranormal romance, fast pacing, dark YA.  If you liked UNEARTHLY, HOUSE OF NIGHT, and FEVER SERIES, I think you’ll really enjoy the DEMON KISSED series, too.

Related posts: Valefar Vol. 1 & Demon Kissed & 13th Prophecy

Grab Valefar Vol. 2 now via Amazon for Kindle or B&N for Nook.